Using web version links, you can share your email templates on external sites such as websites and social media platforms, or share them in other emails you send.

Leveraging Web Versions

You will find the web version URL for each template in the right side panel of the template detail view under Sharing Options.

Clicking on Web Version will open a “Link to your template” modal. You can then click Copy to Clipboard. Once copied, the URL is ready to be used anywhere on the web that you would like to display a web version of your template.

Editing Web Versions

Since web versions are created at the template level, all changes applied to the template will also apply to the web version. Historical versions are not saved; all saved template updates will reflect in current and previously published web versions, regardless of when the web version URL was shared.

If you do not want template changes to show in previously shared web versions, be sure to duplicate a template and make changes from there, as a new web version will be created as part of this workflow. Learn more about duplicating email templates here.

Deleting Web Versions

Email templates can be restored back to an active template by a user at any time by going to the "deleted" folder and moving the template back to an active folder. Because of this, web versions of a template that have been deleted will remain active. If a contact clicks on a web version URL of a deleted template, the web version will still be displayed, creating the best experience for your audience.

When deleting a template, a warning modal will appear to confirm that the web version of your email template will remain active.

💡 Tip: If you wish to permanently delete a web version, you may do so by editing the original template, deleting the content, and then deleting the template. In this scenario, contacts will still be able to access the web version URL they were provided, but it will be blank.

IMPORTANT NOTES:

There are 3 important notes regarding content in web versions:

  1. All dynamic content will display on web version pages.

  2. Any CONTACT personalization used in the template will show blank in the web version. For example, "Dear [Contact First Name]," will appear as "Dear ." Account COMPANY personalization will display correctly.

  3. All edits saved to a template will be reflected in the web version. No historical versions will be retained.

Did this answer your question?